Ares is a God I’ve been fascinated by for a long time, but have had no idea what to do about it, not being the warrior type. Lykeia at Beloved in Light recently wrote a wonderful post that sheds some light on Him, as well as asks important questions about why modern pagans tend to embrace some war Gods, and revile others.

Beloved in Light

First I want to say that I am by no means an expert in the cult and myth of Ares. Certainly there are folks, such as Pete Helms at Aspis of Ares, who are a bit more qualified due to their heavy dedication and studies, to talk about Ares more affluently. However, when I, as a feminist, see feminist literature that takes pot shots at my gods, well I have a problem with it. And so it is in that spirit that I wanted to discuss how feminists can appreciate Ares, and how he is not some evil maniacal patriarchal overlord god bent on destroying all life (my summarization of what a feminist article on Ares more or less said about Ares). The article I am giving commentary about can be found here.

The primary assertion of said article seems to have been that Mars is preferable to Ares…

View original post 1,763 more words

Leave a Reply

